How to pay Alibaba suppliers

Pay an Alibaba supplier either at Alibaba.com checkout, by card, wallet or wire, where Trade Assurance holds the money until you confirm delivery, or by direct bank wire (T/T) to the supplier's company account, which is cheaper on large orders but unprotected. Alibaba lists a 2.99% fee for cards up to US$12,000 and no limit for wires. This guide covers each method's published fees, what Trade Assurance covers, how to pay directly and the checks that prevent fraud.

By Helm Editorial TeamPublished 29 October 2026Last reviewed 29 October 2026
Key takeaways
  • Alibaba.com lists a 2.99% transaction fee for card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay payments, with a limit of US$12,000 and processing in 1 to 2 hours on average.
  • An international wire at Alibaba checkout has no upper limit and costs the flat fee your bank charges, which Alibaba puts at about US$40, so a wire is cheaper than a card above roughly US$1,340.
  • Trade Assurance holds the payment in escrow and allows refund requests within 30 days of delivery, or 60 days for Enterprise and Enterprise Pro buyers, where a breach of the agreed terms can be proven.
  • Payments made outside Alibaba.com, including a direct T/T to the supplier, are not covered by Trade Assurance.
  • China's foreign exchange rules expect the remitter and the beneficiary to be the contract parties, so pay from your company's account to the company named on the invoice.
  • The FBI's IC3 received 21,442 business email compromise complaints in 2024, with losses close to US$2.8 billion, so confirm any change of supplier bank details by phone.

How to pay Alibaba suppliers: the short answer

There are two ways to pay a supplier you found on Alibaba.com. The first is to place the order on Alibaba.com and pay at its checkout, by card, a digital wallet or a bank wire to the payment details Alibaba gives you. Orders paid this way can be covered by Trade Assurance, Alibaba's buyer protection service, which holds the payment until you confirm receipt. The second is to pay the supplier directly by telegraphic transfer (T/T), which is a bank wire sent over SWIFT to the supplier's own company account. SWIFT is the network banks use to send payment instructions across borders, and each bank has an 8 or 11 character SWIFT code.

Alibaba's own guidance is to keep payment on the platform. Its buyer guide states: "To protect your payment, never pay outside the platform." A direct T/T is cheaper on large orders and is how many buyers pay suppliers they already know, but it is not covered by Trade Assurance.

Most buyers use both routes at different stages:

  1. Samples and small first orders: pay at Alibaba checkout by card, where the fee is a percentage and the payment is protected.
  2. Larger first orders: place a Trade Assurance order and pay it by wire through Alibaba, so the payment is protected without the card fee.
  3. Repeat orders with a supplier you have verified: some buyers move to direct T/T, accepting that the protection no longer applies.

This guide sets out Alibaba's published fees and limits for each method, what Trade Assurance does and does not cover, how to pay a supplier directly, and the checks that stop a payment going to a fraudster. For how Chinese suppliers invoice and the difference between a Hong Kong and a mainland account, see our guide on how to pay suppliers in China.

Alibaba payment methods, fees and limits

Alibaba publishes the fee, limit and processing time for each checkout method in its buyer guide. The fee for cards and wallets is charged as a percentage of the payment. The fee for a wire is the charge your own bank sets, not an Alibaba fee.

Method at Alibaba checkoutTransaction feeLimitProcessing time
Credit and debit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, JCB, Diners Club, UnionPay)2.99%Up to US$12,0001 to 2 hours on average
PayPal2.99%Up to US$12,0001 to 2 hours on average
Apple Pay and Google Pay2.99%Up to US$12,0001 to 2 hours on average
Afterpay or Clearpay (select countries)Not statedUp to US$2,000Not stated
International wire (T/T)Flat fee of about US$40, sometimes as low as US$25, set by your bankNo limit3 to 7 days on average
Domestic wire (T/T), where offeredAbout 1 unit of local currency, set by your bankUp to US$300,000 in local currency1 to 2 days

Source: Alibaba.com, "How to pay for goods on Alibaba.com quickly, easily, and securely", as published on 29 October 2026. Alibaba does not date the page; check the payment screen before you pay.

Card or wire: where the cost crosses over

A 2.99% card fee and a flat wire fee of about US$40 cost the same at roughly US$1,340. Below that amount the card is cheaper and faster. Above it the wire is cheaper, and the gap grows with the order. On a US$10,000 order the card fee is US$299. At the US$12,000 card limit it is US$358.80. Larger orders cannot be paid by card at all and go by wire.

The bank's wire fee is not the whole cost of a wire. Correspondent banks, which pass a US dollar payment between banks that have no direct relationship, may deduct their own charges on the way. Your bank may also convert your currency to dollars at its own rate. Send the wire with the charge code OUR so the full amount arrives; our guide to OUR, SHA and BEN SWIFT charges explains each option and what banks charge for it.

What Trade Assurance covers, and what it does not

Trade Assurance is free for buyers and is applied to eligible orders placed and paid on Alibaba.com with a supplier that offers it. Alibaba holds the payment in escrow, which means it keeps the money and releases it to the supplier only after you receive and confirm the goods. It mediates if the supplier does not meet the order terms, but it states that it considers evidence from both sides and does not side automatically with either party.

SituationWhat Alibaba's pages state
Payment held until deliveryFunds are held in escrow and released to the supplier after you receive and confirm the product
Goods not shipped, missing, defective or not as agreedPartial or full refund possible within 30 days of delivery, or 60 days for Enterprise and Enterprise Pro buyers, where the agreed terms were breached and can be proven
Late delivery on eligible productsOn-time Delivery Guarantee: compensation of 10% of the order total, up to US$100, as platform credit
Supplier without Trade AssuranceNot covered; only suppliers showing the Trade Assurance icon are covered
Payment made outside the platformNot covered; a wire transfer outside the platform removes Trade Assurance protection
Vague quality termsHard to enforce; quality must be written into the order contract

Sources: Alibaba.com buyer guide on paying for goods; Alibaba.com, "Stay on platform, stay protected"; Alibaba.com seller blog on T/T and Trade Assurance. As published on 29 October 2026. Refund windows differ between Alibaba pages; the terms on your order apply.

Two points matter most in practice. First, protection rests on what is written in the order. Put the specification, quantity, packaging, inspection standard and ship date into the Trade Assurance order itself, and keep negotiation in Alibaba's messaging, so the evidence exists if you need it. Alibaba's seller guidance states that terms such as "good quality" cannot be enforced in a dispute. Second, Trade Assurance is not a guarantee of a full refund. Its pages describe partial or full refunds where a breach of the agreed terms can be proven.

When you pay a Trade Assurance order by wire, Alibaba's guidance is to pay only to the official Alibaba.com bank account shown for that order, through My Alibaba, then Orders. Wire details sent by a supplier in a chat or an email are not Alibaba's details.

Paying an Alibaba supplier directly by T/T

Paying a supplier directly by T/T is a normal international bank payment. It costs one bank fee whatever the order size, and it suits repeat orders, large orders and custom orders that a supplier will not run through Alibaba checkout. The trade-off is that the payment is outside Trade Assurance, and a wire cannot be charged back once sent.

Collect every detail below from the supplier's proforma invoice, a quote document that sets out the price, quantity and payment terms before an order is confirmed. Check each detail against the company you have been dealing with.

DetailWhat to check
Beneficiary nameThe supplier's registered company name, exactly as its bank holds it, and the same company as on the invoice
Beneficiary addressThe company's full registered address
Account numberThe account in the currency you are paying, usually USD
Bank name, address and SWIFT codeThe supplier's bank; check the code with our SWIFT code lookup
Bank locationHong Kong or mainland China; an account in a third country needs an explanation
Payment referenceThe proforma invoice number
Charge codeOUR, so the supplier receives the full invoice amount

Source: Helm Editorial Team, as published on 29 October 2026. Confirm the exact instructions with the supplier and your bank.

Why the payer's name matters in China

China's foreign exchange rules, as summarized by PNC Bank, require a Chinese company to be on the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) list before banks will handle its foreign exchange. The supplier's bank checks receipts against documents that include the contract, invoice and customs declaration, and the remitter and beneficiary must be the contract parties, the importer and the exporter. Pay from an account in the name of the company on the order, to an account in the name of the company on the invoice. A payment from a relative, an agent or a second company can be held while the supplier's bank asks questions.

Many factories invoice through a Hong Kong trading company. That is common, but the Hong Kong company should be the seller named on the invoice.

Samples, deposits and balances: which method at which stage

Payment terms on Alibaba orders follow a pattern. Sourcing agents report that the most common term is a 30% deposit to start production and the 70% balance before shipping or against a copy of the bill of lading, the document the shipping line issues when it receives the goods. Small orders leave little room to negotiate; larger and repeat orders can earn lower deposits.

Order stageMethod that usually fitsWhy
SamplesCard, PayPal or wallet at Alibaba checkoutSmall amounts, where 2.99% costs less than a flat wire fee, and the payment is protected
First production order with a new supplierTrade Assurance order paid by wire through AlibabaProtected, with no 2.99% fee and no upper limit
Deposit on a repeat orderTrade Assurance order, or direct T/T to a verified supplierDirect T/T is outside Trade Assurance
Balance paymentThe same route as the deposit, after the bill of lading copy and any inspection reportPay the balance only when you have proof of shipment
Large or high-risk orderLetter of credit through your bankPayment is made only against documents that match the credit

Source: Helm Editorial Team, from Alibaba.com's published methods and limits, as published on 29 October 2026.

A letter of credit is a bank's written promise to pay the seller when it presents documents, such as the bill of lading and an inspection certificate, that match the credit's terms. It costs more and takes longer to arrange than a wire, so it is mostly used on large orders. Whatever the route, record the deposit and the balance as two payments against one order, with the same invoice number on both.

Treat any request for 100% payment before production on a first order with care. It removes your leverage if the goods are late or wrong, and on a direct T/T there is no platform to mediate.

Fraud checks before every payment

The most expensive mistake when paying a supplier is sending money to an account that does not belong to it. Business email compromise (BEC) is the fraud in which a criminal impersonates a supplier, often from a hacked or look-alike email address, and sends new bank details. The FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center received 21,442 BEC complaints in 2024, with losses close to US$2.8 billion, and nearly US$8.5 billion in BEC losses were reported between 2022 and 2024, as reported by Nacha.

Alibaba lists the red flags it sees on its platform: a supplier asking to move the conversation to a personal messaging app or to phone calls, offering a special deal or lower fees to pay outside Alibaba, or asking you to pay a different private or personal bank account. It asks buyers to report this through the File a complaint button in chat.

  • Treat any change of bank details as suspect. Confirm it by calling the supplier on a number you already hold, not one given in the same message.
  • Match the name. The beneficiary must be the supplier's company, not an individual. Alibaba's seller guidance states that T/T payments should go to company accounts only.
  • Match the location. A Chinese supplier normally banks in mainland China or Hong Kong.
  • Keep the record. Save the proforma invoice, the payment confirmation and the messages that agreed the terms.
  • Act fast if you are defrauded. Ask your bank to recall the payment the same day. A recall is a request, not a reversal, and it works best before the money moves on.

Where Helm fits

Helm is a financial technology company, not a bank. Accounts are held with regulated partner institutions. For a business that buys from Alibaba suppliers, Helm covers the payment side of the order:

  • USD account details in your company's own name, with a routing and account number that receives ACH, Fedwire and SWIFT, so you can hold dollars for supplier payments.
  • International payments by SWIFT, or by local rails in the supplier's currency where available, with the rate, fee and expected arrival shown before you send. This applies whether you pay the bank details Alibaba gives you for a Trade Assurance order or a verified supplier directly. See international payments.
  • USDC and USDT received, sent and converted to USD inside the account, where local law allows, for suppliers that ask for stablecoin payment. A stablecoin payment made outside Alibaba is not covered by Trade Assurance.
  • Trade finance, such as supplier finance for the balance payment, arranged case by case. See trade finance.

Each client has a named account manager, and review questions are answered in writing within one business day. Helm agrees pricing with each business in writing before the account opens, and shows the rate, the fee and the expected arrival before you confirm each payment.

A checklist for paying an Alibaba supplier

  • Pay for samples at Alibaba checkout; card fees are 2.99% up to US$12,000.
  • Above about US$1,340, a wire costs less than a card; check your own bank's wire fee.
  • Write the specification, quantity, inspection standard and ship date into the Trade Assurance order.
  • For a protected wire, pay only the official Alibaba.com account shown for the order in My Alibaba.
  • For a direct T/T, pay from your company's account to the supplier's company account, with charges set to OUR.
  • Confirm any change of bank details by phone on a number you already hold.
  • Pay the balance against a bill of lading copy and, where used, an inspection report.
  • Keep the invoice, payment confirmation and messages for each order.

Open a Helm account

USD, EUR and GBP accounts in your company's name, with a named account manager.

Open account

Questions

What is the safest way to pay a supplier on Alibaba?

Place a Trade Assurance order on Alibaba.com and pay at checkout, by card or by wire to the official Alibaba.com account shown for that order. Alibaba holds the payment until you confirm receipt, and its guidance is never to pay outside the platform.

How much does Alibaba charge to pay by credit card?

Alibaba.com lists a 2.99% transaction fee for credit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay. The limit is US$12,000 per payment, and processing takes 1 to 2 hours on average.

Is it cheaper to pay Alibaba suppliers by wire transfer?

For larger orders, yes. Alibaba puts a wire's cost at the flat fee your bank charges, about US$40, against 2.99% for a card, so the wire is cheaper above roughly US$1,340. Correspondent bank deductions and your bank's exchange rate can add to the wire's cost.

Does Trade Assurance cover a T/T paid directly to the supplier?

No. Trade Assurance covers orders placed and paid on Alibaba.com. A wire sent to the supplier's own account outside the platform is not covered, and a wire cannot be charged back once sent.

How long do I have to claim a refund under Trade Assurance?

Alibaba's buyer guide states that partial or full refunds can be requested within 30 days of delivery, or 60 days for Enterprise and Enterprise Pro buyers, where the agreed terms were breached and can be proven. Check the terms shown on your own order.

Can I pay Alibaba suppliers with PayPal?

Alibaba.com lists PayPal at checkout with a 2.99% transaction fee and a US$12,000 limit. Many suppliers prefer a wire for production orders, so PayPal is used mostly for samples and small orders.

How long does a wire to an Alibaba supplier take?

Alibaba states that an international wire takes 3 to 7 days on average and a domestic wire, where offered, 1 to 2 days. Sending before your bank's cut-off and with complete details avoids extra delays.

Why does my Alibaba supplier want payment to a Hong Kong account?

Many Chinese factories sell through a Hong Kong trading company with a Hong Kong bank account. That is common, but the Hong Kong company should be the seller named on the invoice, and the account should be in the company's name.

What should I do if an Alibaba supplier sends new bank details?

Do not pay until you have confirmed the change by calling the supplier on a number you already hold. Alibaba lists requests to pay a different private or personal bank account as a red flag and asks buyers to report them through the File a complaint button.

How much deposit should I pay an Alibaba supplier?

A 30% deposit before production and the 70% balance before shipping or against a bill of lading copy is the most common term. Larger and repeat buyers can often negotiate a lower deposit.

References

  1. Alibaba.com: How to pay for goods on Alibaba.com quickly, easily, and securely
  2. Alibaba.com: Stay on platform, stay protected
  3. Alibaba.com seller blog: T/T and Trade Assurance payment guide
  4. PNC Bank: Navigating China's regulations on foreign exchange for goods trade
  5. Jing Sourcing: How to pay Alibaba suppliers safely
  6. Nacha: FBI's IC3 finds almost $8.5 billion lost to business email compromise in last three years
HelmHelm is a business account for companies that trade internationally: USD, EUR and GBP accounts, international payments, collections and currency exchange, with a named account manager. Questions: [email protected].

This guide is general information for businesses, not financial, legal or tax advice. Rules, fees and timings were checked against the sources listed on the review date and may change.